Subscriber Login


Indian states to deploy electric buses [free access]

March 2, 2019

The state governments of Delhi and Uttar Pradesh have approved plans to deploy a fleet of 1,580 electric buses.


The Government of Delhi has announced plans to deploy a total of 4,000 electric and compressed natural gas (CNG) buses in FY2019–2020. Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) will operate 1,000 buses and Delhi Integrated Multi-Modal Transit System Limited (DIMTS) will operate the remaining 3,000 buses (2,000 buses fuelled by CNG and 1,000 electric buses) under the cluster bus scheme.


The state government will provide a subsidy of INR7.5 million for each bus or 60 per cent of the cost of the bus (whichever is lower) and a subsidy of INR8 billion to develop infrastructure for the buses at six depots for 1,000 electric buses under the cluster bus scheme. The Delhi Transport Department plans to launch a tender for the appointment of a concessionaire to procure the buses and install the required charging infrastructure by end-March 2019.


In addition, the Government of Uttar Pradesh has approved plans to operate a fleet of 580 electric buses in eight cities on a public–private partnership (PPP) basis. The cities are Lucknow, Prayagraj, Agra, Ghaziabad, Gorakhpur, Mathura, Varanasi, and Shahjahanpur. The timeline for the deployment of buses is yet to be announced.


(1 INR [Indian Rupee] = 0.01 USD)