Subscriber Login

Project Update

Manila Light Rail Transit (LRT), Philippines [free access]

August 1, 2021

Developer/Operator: The Department of Transportation (DOTr) and the Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA) are the developers. Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC) operates LRT-1 and LRTA operates LRT-2.


LRMC is a joint venture company of Metro Pacific Investments Corporation’s Metro Pacific Light Rail Corporation (MPLRC), Ayala Corporation’s AC Infrastructure Holdings Corporation (AC Infra), Sumitomo Corporation, and the Philippine Investment Alliance for Infrastructure’s Macquarie Investments Holdings (Philippines) Private Limited (MIHPL). It assumed the operations and maintenance (O&M) of LRT-1 in September 2015 under a PHP65 billion 32-year concession agreement with the Department of Transportation (DOTr) and the LRTA, with operations subcontracted to RATP Dev.


Project description: Expansion of the light rail transit (LRT) system serving Metro Manila, the National Capital Region of the Philippines.


Background: The current network consists of two operational lines. The first line started operations in 1984. 


Current network:







In February 2021, the DOTr announced plans to invest USD15.4 billion (over PHP741 billion) in expanding the rail network by 2025. The projects include Manila LRT-1 South Extension (PHP65 billion) and Manila LRT-2 West Extension (PHP10.10 billion).


Track and power: Tracks are standard gauge (1,435 mm) for both lines. Power is sourced from overhead catenary at 750 V DC for LRT-1 and at 1,500 V DC for LRT-2.


Fare system: Contactless smartcards and paper tickets are used as fare media.


Recent developments:



(1 PHP [Philippine Peso] = 0.02 USD)